Baník Ostrava

Founded In
Slezská Ostrava, Czech Republic

About Baník Ostrava

FC Baník Ostrava was first established in September 1922 by a group which mainly consisted of coal miners. Founded under the name SK Slezská Ostrav, the team became known as Baník Ostrava in 1952. Historically, the club have been amongst the most successful in the Czech Republic. Sparta Praha are considered to be their main rivals, although a regional rivalry also exists with Slezský FC Opava, known as the Silesian Derby.

The team began play in the lower leagues of Czechoslovakia in 1923 and their rise to the top division was relatively swift. At the conclusion of the 1936-37 season, Baník Ostrava were crowned champions of the Moravian-Silesian Division and gained entry into the promotion tournament. After winning this tournament, the club moved up to the country's top tier for the first time.

Over the years, Baník Ostrava enjoyed significant success in Czechoslovakia, especially in the 1970s and 1980s. They were crowned league champions in 1976, 1980 and 1981 and lifted the Czechoslovak Cup in 1973, 1978 and 1991. Since the dissolution of Czechoslovakia and the formation of the Gambrinus Liga, the Czech Republic's top league, this success has continued. In 2004 they won the league title and the following season, the team earned the Czech Cup. Additionally, the side reached the cup final in 2004 and 2006, but finished as runners up on both occasions. The team's best performances in continental competitions came in the 1979 UEFA Cup Winners' Cup and the 1981 European Cup, where they reached the semi finals and the quarter finals, respectively.

Rostislav Vojáček, Verner Lička, Libor Radimec, Marek Heinz and René Bolf are amongst the team's most notable former players. All five players also represented their country at international level.

Baník Ostrava play their home matches at The Bazaly, which opened in 1959 and was reconstructed in 2003. The stadium currently has a capacity of 17,372.

Loading ...