Founded In
Barcelona, Spain

About Barcelona

Founded in 1899, Futbol Club Barcelona, commonly known simply as Barcelona, are one of the most successful football teams in history. Originally created by a group of English, Swiss and Catalan footballers, the team has qualified for continental football in every single season since 1955 and established itself as one of the world's elite clubs. Today, Barcelona remain closely associated with the idea of Catalan nationalism.

From 1928 to 1985 the club won ten La Liga titles and with rivlas Real Madrid, Valencia and Sevilla virtually creating a monopoly on the Spanish domestic scene.

In 1988, Johan Cruyff took over as the club's manager and built a side known as the 'Dream Team'. Cruyff's side, which contained such talents as Pep Guardiola, Michael Laudrup and Romário, won the 1992 European Cup, as well as four successive league titles in the period from 1991 to 1994. Following Cruyff's departure, several big name managers took the reigns, including Bobby Robson and Frank Rijkaard. The latter, in particular, enjoyed huge success. However, it was Cruyff's ideas that became synonymous with the club and served as the foundation for an unprecedented era of success under the management of Pep Guardiola.

Guardiola took over as manager in 2008 and in his first season in charge, he led Barcelona to a historic treble; the Copa del Rey, La Liga and the Champions League. By the end of 2009, he completed the sextuple, adding the Supercopa de España, the UEFA Super Cup and the FIFA Club World Cup to his collection. During his four years in charge, from 2008-2012, the club won 14 trophies in total, including three league titles and two Champions League trophies.

The club has housed some of the biggest names in world football over the years, including: Johan Cruyff in the 70s, Diego Maradona and Gary Lineker in the 80s, Michael Laudrup, Ronaldo and Rivaldo in the 90s and Ronaldinho, Xavi and Lionel Messi in the 21st century.

Since 1957, Barcelona have played at the Camp Nou, the largest stadium in Europe, with a capacity of 99,786. Prior to the implementation of seating throughout the stadium in the 1990s, it had a capacity of 121,749.  

Loading ...