Baylor Bears

About Baylor Bears

The Baylor Bears football team was established in 1898 and the program represents Baylor University. Over the years, the Bears have enjoyed significant success and a number of the players who have come through the program have gone on to enjoy successful careers in the NFL. At present, the team's main rivals are the TCU Horned Frogs, the Texas Tech Red Raiders and the Texas Longhorns. The rivalry with the Horned Frogs is one of the oldest in college football, with the first game between the teams taking place in 1899.

After competing as an independent, the team were a charter member of the Southwest Conference in 1914. Baylor took little time to establish themselves and went on to enjoy a golden era, winning Conference Championships in 1915, 1916, 1922 and 1924. Their 1924 success would be their last for fifty years.

In 1974, the team claimed their fifth Southwest Conference Title, while further successes were added in 1980 and 1994, to take their total haul of Conference Championships to seven. In 1996, Baylor became a founding member of the Big 12 Conference. Throughout history, the Bears have appeared in nineteen post-season bowl games and currently have a 10-9 record.

Several former Baylor players have been enshrined into the College Football Hall of Fame, including Barton Koch, Bill Glass, Jim Ray Smith, Larry Elkins and Hayden Fry, while Mike Singletary was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1998. The team has also produced one Heisman Trophy winner: Robert Griffin III in 2011.

Floyd Casey Stadium has been the team's home since its opening in 1950. The venue, which was formerly known as Baylor Stadium, currently has an official capacity of 50,000. Ho...

Loading ...