Borussia M'gladbach

Founded In
Mönchengladbach, Germany
About Borussia M'gladbach

Borussia Mönchengladbach was formed in 1900 as FC Borussia. The football club briefly merged with Turnverein Germania although the union lasted just two years. By 1920, the club had tasted its first success, winning the Westdeutsche Meisterschaft.

After the re-structure of German football under the Nazi regime, Borussia Mönchengladbach began to climb through the divisions, reaching the second tier in 1949 and gaining promotion to the Oberliga West the following year. In 1958-59 they won the Oberliga West and in 1964-65 they won the Regionalliga West, gaining promotion to the Bundesliga for the first time in the process.

The 1970s was a period of huge success for the club. They won the Bundesliga in 1969-70, 1970–71, 1974–75, 1975–76 and 1976–77 and the DFB Cup in 1972-73. The decade also saw Mönchengladbach achieve continental success, winning the UEFA Cup in 1975 and 1979 and reaching the final of the European Cup in 1977, where they were beaten by Liverpool. Since the end of the 1970s, the club has failed to achieve the same levels of success, failing to win the UEFA Cup again in 1980 to fellow German club, Eintracht Frankfurt and losing in the final of the DFB Cup in 1984. The club would have to wait until 1995 for its next success, another DFB Cup, but the 1990s also saw the club relegated to the second tier. After gaining promotion to the Bundesliga once more in 2001, the club was relegated again in 2007.

Notable players to represent the club throughout its history include Allan Simonsen, Lothar Matthäus, Berti Vogts, Herbert Laumen, Uwe Rahn and Marco Reus. The team's record goal scorer is Jupp Heynckes, who scored 292 goals for the club.

Borussia Mönchengladbach play their home matches at Borussia-Park, which opened in 2004. The stadium has a capacity of 54,057 for league matches. 

Loading ...