Boston College Eagles

About Boston College Eagles

The Boston College Eagles have been active as a football team since 1892. As well as enjoying significant success on the field over the years, Boston College have also consistently ranked amongst the best in the country in terms of academic achievement. Historically, the Holy Cross Crusaders were a major rival, although today, the team's biggest rivals include the Syracuse Orange, the Notre Dame Fighting Irish and the Virginia Tech Hokies.

In the 1940 season, the Eagles experienced their greatest ever year, as they made it through the season unbeaten and untied, with an 10-0 record, before going on to compete in the Sugar Bowl. Here, they met the Tennessee Volunteers, who were also unbeaten going into the game. Tennessee took an early lead, but the Eagles fought back and eventually achieved a 19-13 win to claim the National Championship and post an 11-0 end of season record.

To date, their 1940 success remains their only National Championship, although Boston College have gone on to enjoy further success. In 2004, they were one of four teams to share the Big East Conference Championship. Furthermore, in recent times, the team have claimed three ACC Atlantic Division Titles, with those wins coming in 2005, 2007 and 2008. In total, they have played 22 bowl games and have been victorious in thirteen of them.

Some of the best players to have come through the program include Doug Flutie, who won the Heisman Trophy in 1984; Mike Ruth, who won the Outland Trophy in 1985 and Matt Ryan, who was named ACC Player of the Year in 2007.

Boston College have played their home games at Alumni Stadium since 1957. Originally able to hold a maximum of 26,000 spectators, the venue has und...

Loading ...