Founded In
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

About Botafogo

Botafogo de Futebol e Regatas, usually known more simply as Botafogo, was founded as a sports club in 1894, but the football team was not established until 1904. Initially called the Electro Club, the team took on its current name around a month after its formation. The club's main local rivals include Flamengo, Fluminense and Vasco da Gama.

During the 1950s and 1960s, Botafogo were amongst the most supported club's in the country. This period in their history was successful and saw some of Brazil's most legendary players don the Botafogo shirt. Amongst people over the age of 60, the club is still one of Brazil's most popular teams. However, the club's overall popularity has declined and they are now the country's ninth most popular team in terms of total number of supporters. In 1987, Botafogo were founding members of the Clube dos 13, a group of the biggest clubs in Brazil.

Over the years, Botafogo have experienced regional, national and international success. The club has won the Campeonato Carioca 19 times, with their most successful period coming in the 1930s, with wins in 1930, 1932, 1933, 1934 and 1935. In 1968 they won the Taça Brasil and in 1995 they won the Campeonato Brasileiro Série A. On the international scene, they lifted the Copa CONMEBOL in 1993.

The list of notable players to represent the club is lengthy and includes some of Brazil's greatest ever talents. Some of the more notable names include: Jairzinho, Garrincha, Didi, Caju, Manga and Nílton Santos. The club's record goal scorer is Quarentinha, who amassed 306 goals in 444 games.

Botafogo play their home matches at the Estádio Olímpico João Havelange, sometimes known more simpyly by the name Engenhão. In 2007, the club signed a deal to make use of the stadium for the next 20 years. It has a total capacity of 46,931 and will host events during the 2016 Olympic Games.   

Loading ...