Brisbane Roar

Founded In
Brisbane, Australia

About Brisbane Roar

Brisbane Roar Football Club was founded in 2005 under the name Queensland Roar. The club adopted its current name in 2009, in order to differentiate it from other sides from Queensland. The franchise is currently owned by Aburizal Bakrie and the Bakrie Group. Their main rivals are Gold Coast United, the Central Coast Mariners and Sydney FC. The rivalry with Gold Coast United is known as the M1 Derby.

The 2010-11 season saw the Roar make history, as they finished the regular season in 1st place to win the Premiership and then went on to defeat the Central Coast Mariners and win the A-League Championship. Along the way, they embarked upon a run of thirty-six matches without defeat, which lasted from September 2010 to November 2011. This is the longest unbeaten streak to ever be registered by an Australian football team.

The following year, the Roar became the first club in A-League history to retain the Championship, as they beat Perth Glory 2-1 in the Grand Final. On this occasion, they finished the regular season as runners up. In total, the club have reached the Finals Series on five occasions and have qualified for the AFC Champions League twice. To date, they have not yet made it beyond the group phase of the competition.

Seo Hyuk-Su, Craig Moore, Matt McKay and Luke DeVere are amongst the most notable talents to have played for the Roar and all four players won Player's Player of the Year Awards during their time at the club. 

The club play their home matches at Lang Park, which is currently known as Suncorp Stadium for sponsorship reasons and occasionally referred to as Brisbane Stadium. The venue first opened in 1914 and was redeveloped between 2001 and 2003. It hosted the Rugby League World Cup Final in 2008 and is able to hold a maximum of 52,500 supporters.

Loading ...