Buffalo Bills

About Buffalo Bills

The Buffalo Bills were founded in 1959 and played their first season in 1960 as part of the American Football League. The Bills, who were named after a former All-America Football Conference franchise, joined the NFL in 1970 when the NFL and AFL merged into one league.

The Bills endured a rough first year as a member of the NFL, winning just three games during the 1970 season. The 1971 season was even worse, as the team scored the fewest points in the NFL and finished with the league’s worst record. By the mid-70s, the team's fortunes had improved. Led by running back O.J. Simpson, the Bills made their first appearance in the NFL playoffs following the 1974 season.

The team's only League Championship wins pre-date their entry to the National Football League, coming in the AFL in 1964 and 1965. Since joining the NFL, the Bills' most successful period came at the beginning of the 1990s. During this time, the team became the first to win Conference Championships in four consecutive seasons, with AFC Championship wins coming in 1990, 1991, 1992 and 1993.

As a result, the Bills appeared in Super Bowls XXV, XXVI, XXVII and XXVIII. Unfortunately, they lost on all four occasions, including a 20-19 defeat to the New York Giants at Super Bowl XXV. In total, the franchise has won 10 Division Championships and has made 17 playoff appearances. The Bills currently hold the longest active playoff drought in the NFL, with their last playoff appearance coming in 1999.

Buffalo Bills Championships

AFL Championships

  • 1964: Buffalo Bills 20, San Diego Chargers 7
  • 1965: Buffalo Bills 23, San Diego Chargers 0

Notable Bills Players

  • O.J. Simpson
  • Billy Shaw
  • Jim Kelly
  • James Lof...
Loading ...