Buffalo Bulls

About Buffalo Bulls

The Buffalo Bulls football team has been active in college football since 1894 and represents the University at Buffalo. The team's main rivals include the Army Black Knights, the Bowling Green Falcons, the Kent State Golden Flashes, the Miami RedHawks and the Syracuse Orange.

Between its foundation in 1894 and 1970, the program ran continuously. However, during the late 1960s, the team's performances declined and the program experienced financial issues. In 1970, the student body voted for the university to stop funding the team. As a result, the Buffalo Bulls program was inactive for several years, before returning in 1977. Initially playing at Division III level, in 1993 the team made the step up to Division I-AA level football and in 1999, they moved up again, to Division I-A.

Since the turn of the 21st century, the level of success Buffalo have experienced has greatly improved. In 2007, the team won a Mid-American Conference's East Division Co-Championship, although they lost a tiebreaker to Miami and did not play in the conference's championship game. The following year, the Bulls won an outright MAC East Division Title and defeated the Ball State Cardinals to claim their first Conference Championship. Buffalo went on to play in the International Bowl, their first ever post-season bowl game, where they were beaten by the Connecticut Huskies.

Although the program has not produced any Pro Football Hall of Fame inductees or Pro Bowlers, several alumni have achieved success as professional players. Examples include Super Bowl Champion, James Starks, as well as Gerry Philbin, Jamey Richard, Naaman Roosevelt and Trevor Scott.

The Bulls play their home games at the Uni...

Loading ...