California Golden Bears

About California Golden Bears

The California Golden Bears of the Pacific-12 Conference represent the University of California, Berkeley. Since its inception in 1886, Cal has recognized five national titles and developed close to 30 consensus All-Americans while stockpiling a 541-481-31 all-time record.

The Golden Bears have won 14 conference titles and has accrued a 10-10-1 mark in 21 bowl games.

Cal enjoyed a golden era during the 1920s under head coach Andy Smith, including four recognized national titles and an unbeaten streak of 50 games that remains one of the longest such streaks in NCAA history. The Bears’ fifth and final championship came in 1937 under head coach Stub Allison.

Recognized Golden Bears National Titles

  • 1920: Cal 28, Ohio State 0
  • 1921: Cal 0, Washington & Jefferson 0
  • 1922: No Bowl Game
  • 1923: No Bowl Game
  • 1937: Cal 13, Alabama 0

Brick Muller, Ed White, Steve Bartkowski, Les Richter and Sean Dawkins are amongst the best players to have played for the Golden Bears over the years. All five players were chosen for the California All-Century Football Team in 1999. Several current NFL stars also came through the program, including three-time Pro Bowl selection and Super Bowl XLV MVP, Aaron Rodgers.

Notable Cal Bears Alumni

  • Steve Bartkowski
  • Sean Dawkins
  • Tony Gonzalez
  • Desean Jackson
  • Marshawn Lynch
  • Brick Muller
  • Deltha O’Neal
  • Les Richter
  • Aaron Rodgers

California annually competes in the “Big Game” against the Stanford Cardinal, who leads the all-time rivalry series 47-40-6. The rivalry might be most-famous for “The Play,” in which the Stanford Marching Band ran onto the field, wreaking havoc in the final seconds of the 1982 Big Game.


Loading ...