Founded In
Montevideo, Uruguay

About Cerro

Often known by the more simple name of Cerro, Club Atlético Cerro was first established back in 1922. Historically, the club's primary rivals have been Rampla Juniors. Both teams are based in the Cerro neighborhood of Montevideo and the derby match between the two sides is widely regarded as the second most important rivalry in Uruguay, behind the Uruguayan Clásico, which is contested by Peñarol and Nacional.

The early 1940s saw Cerro competing in the country's third tier, the Tercera División. After winning the league in both 1940 and 1941, they gained entry to the Segunda División. From there, they were crowned Segunda División champions in 1946 and made their debut in the country's top division in 1947. 

For many years, they remained the only side outside of the country's traditional big clubs to have avoided relegation from the Primera División. However, in 1997, violence amongst the team's supporters during a match led to authorities taking action. As punishment, Cerro were hit with a points deducation and were subsequently relegated. After returning to the top flight and re-establishing themselves, more incidents amongst their supporters led to yet another points deduction and a second relegation at the end of the 2005-06 campaign. However, they returned at the first attempt and went on to win the 2009 Liguilla Pre-Libertadores; their first trophy in the top division.

As a result of this success, they gained qualification to the Copa Libertadores for only the second time in their history, with the club's only previous appearance coming back in 1995. Unfortunately, on both occasions, Cerro were eliminated from the tournament after the group stage.

Cerro's home games are hosted at the Estadio Luis Tróccoli, which first opened its doors in 1964. The venue was renovated in 2010 and is now able to hold a maximum of 25,000 supporters.

Loading ...