Cincinnati Bengals

About Cincinnati Bengals

The Cincinnati Bengals were established in the AFL in 1968 and joined the NFL two years later as part of the AFL-NFL Merger. The Bengals took their name from an earlier football team with the same name from the 1930s. The team's main rivals are the Pittsburgh Steelers and Cleveland Browns.

The influence of three-time NFL champion Paul Brown on the franchise cannot be overstated. Despite leading the Browns to three NFL championships during the 1950s, Brown ended being dismissed from his head coaching position following the 1962 season for failing to consult with then-owner Art Modell on personnel moves. After his forced departure from Cleveland, Brown became interested in starting a new franchise of his own. He subsequently headed up the Bengals’ original ownership group and served as the first coach in franchise history from 1968 until his retirement in 1975.

Paul Brown died in 1991, but passed on ownership of the Bengals to his son, Mike, who is still the owner today. Unlike his father, Mike Brown has enjoyed relatively little success as the team’s top executive, but the franchise has enjoyed a few bright spots during his tenure as owner.

After winning the AFC Championship in 1981, the Bengals appeared in Super Bowl XVI but ultimately lost to the San Francisco 49ers. In 1988, another conference championship led the team to an appearance in Super Bowl XXIII, but Cincinnati was upended by the 49ers yet again. After returning to the postseason in 1990, the Bengals didn’t return to the playoffs again until 2005. In total, the team has won eight division titles, most recently winning the AFC North in 2013. The Bengals have appeared in the playoffs 12 times in their 45 years o...

Loading ...