Clemson Tigers

About Clemson Tigers

The Clemson Tigers football team was first established in 1896 and represents Clemson University. Traditionally known as the Clemson University Fighting Tigers, the team have enjoyed huge success in college football and have produced over 150 players for the National Football League. Their traditional rivals include South Carolina, NC State and Georgia Tech. The rivalry with South Carolina is dubbed the Battle of the Palmetto State, while Clemson and NC State contest what has become known as the Textile Bowl.

Clemson were founding members of the Atlantic Coast Conference in 1953 and since joining, they have won fourteen Conference Championships; more than any other school. This includes thirteen outright titles, as well as one in 1965, which they tied with North Carolina State. Their most recent Conference Championship came in 2011. Prior to their entry into the ACC, they were part of the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Association and the Southern Conference. In total, they have amassed eighteen Conference Championships across the conferences.

The team claimed their first National Championship in 1981, after beating Nebraska 22-15 in the Orange Bowl. Over the years, they have completed five undefeated seasons, in 1900, 1906, 1948, 1950 and 1981. In addition to their National Championship win and their record haul of Conference Championships in the ACC, the Tigers have claimed three Division Titles and have made 35 appearances in bowl games.

Notable players to come through the program include Banks McFadden, Terry Kinard and Jeff Davis, who were all inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame; as well as Steve Fuller and CJ Spiller, who have had their squad numbe...

Loading ...