Founded In
Ciudad de Santa Fé, Provincia de Santa Fe, Argentina

About Colón

Club Atlético Colón was founded back in May 1905. The team is usually known as Colón or Colón de Santa Fe and has been playing continuously in the top flight of Argentine football since 1995. Their biggest rivals are Unión de Santa Fe, with the rivalry based primarily on the geographical location of the two teams. Historically, matches between the two clubs have been even affairs, with neither side dominating the derby.

The team began play in regional competitions in the Santa Fe area and did not join the Argentine Football Association until 1947. After entering the national league system, Colón competed in the lower divisions up until 1965, when they won the Primera B Nacional and gained access to the Primera División for the first time. In 1981, the side were relegated from the top tier and would not return for 14 years.

Although they are yet to win a major national trophy, Colón have occasionally challenged the Primera División leaders. In the 1997 Clausura tournament, they finished as runners up to eventual winners, River Plate. Their next best finishes came in the 2000 Clausura tournament and the Apertura 2009, where they finished in 3rd place. Over the years, Colón have qualified for a number of international tournaments. Their first came in 1997, as they gained entry into the Copa CONMEBOL. The following year, the club qualified for the Copa Libertadores for the first time and reached the quarter final stage. Then, in 2003, they entered the Copa Sudamericana.

Pedro Pasculli began his professional career with the club and went on to win the World Cup with Argentina in 1986. Other notable former players include Enzo Trossero and Hugo Villaverde.

Colón play home games at the Estadio Brigadier General Estanislao López. The venue is nicknamed the Elephants Graveyard and first opened in 1946. It currently holds a maximum of 33,548 supporters.

Loading ...