Colorado Buffaloes

About Colorado Buffaloes

The Colorado Buffaloes football team was established in 1890 at the University of Colorado at Boulder.

The program ranks No. 29 in NCAA history with 626 wins all-time, against 444 losses and 35 ties. The Buffaloes have won one national championship to go along with 26 conference titles, playing in the Big 8 and Big 12. In 2011 the program made the jump to the Pacific-12 Conference.

Colorado’s national title came during Bill McCartney's tenure as the team's head coach in 1990, when the Buffs went 11-1-1 over the course of the season. This included a win over Notre Dame in the Orange Bowl in January 1991. Although Georgia Tech won the United Press International Coaches Poll, Colorado was chosen as national champions by the Associated Press and Football Writers Association of America.

Colorado is 12-16 all-time in the postseason and last played in a bowl game in 2007, a 30-24 loss to the Alabama Crimson Tide.

Colorado Buffaloes National Championships

  • 1990 Orange Bowl: Colorado 10, Notre Dame 9

The program has produced 30 All-Americans and one Heisman Trophy winner, Rashaan Salaam in 1994. Several former Buffaloes have been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, including Byron White, Joe Romig and Bobby Anderson. The university has subsequently honored those three players by retiring their jersey numbers.

Notable CU Buffs Alums

  • Bobby Anderson
  • Joe Romig
  • Rashaan Salaam
  • Kordell Stewart
  • Byron “Whizzer” White

Colorado’s chief rivals are the Colorado State Rams, which they annually contest the Rocky Mountain Showdown for the Centennial Cup. The Buffs hold a 54-21-1 record over their interstate rival that dates back to 1902.

The Utah Utes and Nebrask...

Loading ...