Colorado Rapids

Founded In
Denver, Colorado, USA

About Colorado Rapids

The Colorado Rapids were established in 1996 and became one of Major League Soccer's founding clubs in the same year. The club is based in Denver, Colorado and the team's closest rivals are Real Salt Lake. The two sides contest the Rocky Mountain Derby and the Rocky Mountain Cup is awarded to the side with the best head-to-head record over the course of the league season.

Originally owned by the the Anschutz Corporation, in 2004 the Colorado Rapids were purchased by Kroenke Sports Enterprises, a group owned by Stan Kroenke. Kroenke is also the majority shareholder of Arsenal Football Club and several US Sports franchises. Ahead of the 2005 season, several key personnel changes were made, including the appointment of a new head coach and a new executive General Manager.

The Rapids have won the MLS Cup on one occasion, in 2010, after defeating FC Dallas 2-1 in the final. In addition, the club were runners up in the MLS Cup back in 1997, losing out to DC United at the final hurdle. In 1999, the club made it to the final of the US Open Cup before eventually losing to the Rochester Raging Rhinos.

Notable players to represent the Colorado Rapids over the years include Anders Limpar, Carlos Valderrama, Mark Chung, Claudio López and Pablo Mastroeni. The team's all time greatest goal scorer is Conor Casey, who scored 48 goals for the club. Furthermore, the club has inducted four players into its Gallery of Honor: Chris Henderson, John Spencer, Paul Bravo and Marcelo Balboa.

Since 2007 the club has played its home matches at Dick's Sporting Goods Park, also known as DSG Park. The stadium, which is located in Commerce City, Colorado, has a capacity of 18,086 and cost $131 million to construct. The team had previously played at the Mile High Stadium and Invesco Field at Mile High. 

Loading ...