Football News

CONCACAF Champions League Monterrey v Santos Laguna

Created on Apr. 29, 2013 11:11 AM EST

Monterrey could make CONCACAF Champions League history on Wednesday when they host Santos Laguna in the second leg of the 2012/13 final.

Having claimed a scoreless draw at Santos Laguna's Estadio Nuevo Corona last week, Monterrey could be 90 minutes away from becoming the first club to win three-consecutive CONCACAF Champions League titles since the 1970s.

Mexico's Cruz Azul is the only club to have achieved that feat when they won in 1969, 1970 and 1971.

Monterrey, who are also a Mexican club, should have plenty of confidence ahead of Wednesday's clash with fellow Liga MX outfit Santos Laguna, in what is a rematch of last season's CONCACAF Champions League final.

Santos Laguna have not won in Monterrey in over a decade, including in the first leg of the 2012 final, which the home side won 2-0, before going on to take the title 3-2 on aggregate.

Monterrey won the 2010/11 CONCACAF Champions League when they knocked off the USA's Real Salt Lake 3-2 on aggregate.

In the first leg last week, Monterrey were forced to hold on for a draw after Cesar Delgado was sent off in the 65th minute but they should be much more adventurous on their home turf.

Chilean striker Humberto Suazo will be the main man for Monterrey as he has scored four goals in eight games in the continental championships, while Santos Laguna will look to Colombian attacker Carlos Quintero, who has five goals to his name in the CONCACAF Champions League.

Monterrey head into the second leg on the back of a 1-0 victory away to Tigres UANL in Liga MX on Saturday, while Santos Laguna suffered a 1-0 loss to Cruz Azul.

Santos Laguna are looking to become the 13th Mexican club to lift the CONCACAF Champions League title.

Loading ...