Football News

Confederations Cup squads finalised

Created on Jun. 07, 2013 8:47 AM EST

The squads of the eight teams competing in the upcoming FIFA Confederations Cup have been finalised.

The competition begins on June 15 when the hosts Brazil face Japan in Brasilia and those two sides, plus Spain, Italy, Mexico, Nigeria, Uruguay and Tahiti, confirmed their 23-man squads on Friday. 

New Barcelona signing Neymar is undoubtedly one of the stars of the Brazil squad and he, along with the likes of Fred and Hulk, will be hoping to provide the goals for the hosts.

Milan's Mario Balotelli features in an Italy squad that also includes Juventus stars Andrea Pirlo and Gianluigi Buffon.
Manchester United attacking midfielder Shinji Kagawa will be the focus of Japan's team, while club team-mate Javier Hernandez is likely to be Mexico's talisman.

Chelsea' John Obi Mikel is included in Nigeria's squad, and fellow Stamford Bridge man Juan Mata is one of many stars to feature in world champions Spain's squad, which boasts the likes of Xavi, Andres Iniesta and David Silva.

Veteran former Nice striker Marama Vahirua will be looking to help minnows Tahiti surprise some of the big guns, but they may have a tough time in Group B against Spain and Uruguay, with the reigning Copa America holders having Luis Suarez and Edinson Cavani in their ranks.

Five-time FIFA World Cup winners Brazil have won the FIFA Confederations cup on three occasions, and are the current holders after overcoming United States in the final in South Africa in 2009. 

Loading ...