Jordan Michael

Conference USA Shuffles Members

Created on Mar. 19, 2013 4:10 AM EST

The NCAA has been a whirlwind of confusion as numerous teams jump in and out of conferences, seemingly at will. Some college teams are disbanding their current leagues for new opportunities elsewhere.

Conference USA has joined the identity crisis. The league has lost four teams for 2013, but gained six more in the process.

Southern Methodist University, University of Central Florida, Houston, and Memphis have relocated to the Big East for next season.

Conference USA had two divisions of six teams in 2012, but will now have two divisions with seven teams for 2013.

Middle Tennessee, Florida International, and Florida Atlantic will join Marshall, East Carolina, Southern Miss, and UAB in the East division. North Texas, Louisiana Tech, and Texas-San Antonio will link with UTEP, Tulane, Rice, and Tulsa in the West division.

Each Conference USA team will play eight conference games in 2013, including two games from the opposite division.

Conference USA’s 17th-annual football season will begin Aug. 29 with Tulsa traveling to Bowling Green, while Middle Tennessee hosts Western Carolina in non-conference matchups. The first 2013 conference game is Florida Atlantic at East Carolina on Sept. 7.

The Conference USA Championship game is scheduled for Dec. 7. Check out the 2013 schedule here.

Loading ...