Founded In
Curitiba, Paraná, Brazil

About Coritiba

Coritiba Foot Ball Club was established in Curitiba in 1909, by a group of mostly German immigrants, making it the oldest professional club in the state of Paraná. Traditionally, the club's two biggest rivals are Atlético Paranaense and Paraná Clube, both of whom are also based in the city of Curitiba. Coritiba FC have working agreements with the Mexican club Chivas Guadalajara and the Portuguese club Porto, which includes talent exchanges.

In 2011, Coritiba achieved a world record, recognised by FIFA, for the highest number of consecutive victories in all competitions, with 24 wins on the bounce in the state championship and Copa do Brasil. The win streak, which stretched from February to May, is listed in the Guinness Book of World Records and led to Coritiba being dubbed 'o mais vitorioso do mundo' or 'the most victorious team in the world'.

The club has achieved success on a state and national level, with their most significant achievement being the 1985 Campeonato Brasileiro win. Their success in the 1973 Torneio do Povo saw them become the first southern Brazilian club to win a national trophy. At state level, Coritiba have been dominant, winning the Campeonato Paranaense 36 times, including back-to-back wins in 1971, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975 and 1976, and more recently in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

Some of the club's most notable former players include Maxambomba during the 1910s, King during the 1930s, Duílio and Pedro Rocha during the 1970s, Alex during the 1990s and Rafinha, Adriano and Keirrison in the 2000s.

Since 1932, Coritiba have played their home matches at the Estádio Major Antônio Couto Pereira, formerly known as the Estádio Belford Duarte. Today, the stadium is capable of holding a maxium of 37,182 spectators, but its record attendance for a football match was set at 65,943 back in 1983.   

Loading ...