Dallas Cowboys

About Dallas Cowboys

The Dallas Cowboys were first established as an NFL franchise in 1960. Their major rivals include the Washington Redskins and the Pittsburgh Steelers. Their rivalry with the Redskins was named as the greatest NFL rivalry ever by Sports Illustrated. The Cowboys are currently regarded as the most valuable sports franchise in America, and they are the second most valuable sports team on the planet, according to Forbes.    

From the 1960s to the 1980s, the Cowboys achieved a remarkable level of consistency. From 1966 to 1985, they achieved twenty consecutive winning seasons, which remains an NFL record. During this time, the Cowboys only missed out on the playoffs in the 1974 and 1984 seasons.    

The Cowboys are amongst the most decorated teams in the National Football League. The team won their first Super Bowl at the conclusion of the 1971 season, and added a second title six years later in 1977. During the 1990s, the Cowboys won three Super Bowls in the span of four years, with wins coming at Super Bowls XXVII, XXVIII and XXX. In total, the team has amassed ten Conference Championships, twenty-one Division Championships and thirty playoff appearances.    

Some of the franchise's more notable former players include Roger Staubach, Randy White, Troy Aikman and Emmitt Smith. All four have been inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame since retiring from the game.    

Since its opening in 2009, the Dallas Cowboys have played their home games at Cowboys Stadium, which is located in Arlington, Texas. The stadium has a retractable roof, is the biggest dome-style stadium in the world and is currently the third largest stadium in the National Football League with a maximum capa...

Loading ...