Daugava Daugavpils

Founded In
Daugavpils, Latvia

About Daugava Daugavpils

Football Club Daugava Daugavpils, known more simply as FC Daugava, was created by Latvian businessman, Vladislavs Drīksne, back in 2001. Originally known as FK Ditton, the team adopted its current name in 2006, after Russian businessman, Igor Malishkov, became the primary shareholder. The club are based in the city of Daugavpils and managed to climb from the local championship up to the Virsliga at a rapid pace, making their first top flight appearance back in 2004.

Over the course of recent years, the team have taken on several aspects of FK Daugava Rīga's identity. FK Daugava Rīga was created back in 1944 and played in the Soviet Top League. They later ceased operations in 1995, due to financial difficulties. Daugava Daugavpils have since adopted part of the club's name and have based their badge around that of the old side, including a reference to the foundation date 1944. However, there is some debate over whether Daugava Daugavpils can be considered a true successor to FK Daugava Rīga.

In 2008, Daugava Daugavpils enjoyed their first taste of major success, after beating FK Ventspils via a penalty shootout in the final of the Latvian Football Cup. The 2012 season brought about even greater success, as the club were crowned as champions of the Virsliga for the first time. Then, in 2013, the team made their debut in the qualification rounds of the UEFA Champions League.

Some of the most notable players to have played for the club throughout history include the likes of Kirils Kurbatovs, Aleksandr Sonin, Mikalay Ryndzyuk and Mamuka Ghonghadze.

Daugava Daugavpils' home matches are played at Daugava Stadium. Construction on the venue began in 2006, at the request of Igor Malishkov, and the stadium opened its doors in 2008. It is currently able to hold a crowd of up to 4,100 people.

Loading ...