Kristen Finstad

Davey O'Brien Semifinalists Include 2012 Winner Manziel

Created on Nov. 05, 2013 4:03 PM EST

With quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, character, leadership and sportsmanship in mind, the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee has selected 16 semifinalists for the 2013 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

Among the candidates is the 2012 winner, Texas A&M's Johnny Manziel, who will try to become the fourth player in history to win the award twice. BYU's Ty Detmer (1990 and 1991), Florida's Danny Wuerffel (1995 and 1996) and Oklahoma's Jason White (2003 and 2004) are the only players to accomplish that feat. 

The three finalists will be announced Nov. 25, and the winner will be announced Dec. 12 on The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN.

2013 Davey O'Brien Semifinalists

Blake Bortles, UCF
Tajh Boyd, Clemson
Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville
Derek Carr, Fresno State
Brett Hundley, UCLA
Jordan Lynch, Northern Illinois
Sean Mannion, Oregon State
Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M
Marcus Mariota, Oregon
AJ McCarron, Alabama
Zach Mettenberger, LSU
Braxton Miller, Ohio State
Aaron Murray, Georgia
Bryce Petty, Baylor
Connor Shaw, South Carolina
Jameis Winston, Florida State

Loading ...