Detroit Lions

About Detroit Lions

Founded in 1929, the Detroit Lions began life as the Portsmouth Spartans and joined the National Football League for the first time in 1930. Prior to the Super Bowl era, the team enjoyed significant success, but the franchise has struggled on the field since the AFL-NFL merger. The Lions' biggest rivals are the Green Bay Packers and the Chicago Bears.

Despite getting off to a good start in Portsmouth, several external factors, including the Great Depression, caused the team to struggle financially. As a result, the team was bought by George Richards and relocated to Detroit. The move resulted in the team's rebrand from the Portsmouth Spartans to the Detroit Lions. The name was reportedly chosen in reference to the Detroit Tigers, the city’s Major League Baseball team.

Since the move to Detroit in 1934, the Lions have won four NFL Championships, all prior to the AFL-NFL merger. The team’s first title came in 1935, with the Lions defeating the New York Giants in the Championship Game. In 1952, the team won their second championship, this time beating the Cleveland Browns. The Lions captured another title the following season and then won the team’s last championship in 1957, with both wins coming against the Browns.

Since the AFL and NFL merged to form the modern NFL, Detroit has failed to make it to the Super Bowl and has the second-longest championship drought in the league behind the Arizona Cardinals. In total, the team has won four Conference Championships, four Division Championships, and has made 15 playoff appearances.

Detroit Lions Championships

NFL Championships

  • 1935: Detroit Lions 26, New York Giants 7
  • 1952: Detroit Lions 17, Cleveland Browns 7
  • 1953: D...
Loading ...