Gori, Georgia

About Dila

Football Club Dila Gori, sometimes known by the shorter name of Dila, was first established in 1949. Based in the city of Gori, the club competed in the lower tiers of the Soviet league system for many years, before enjoying greater prominence since Georgia became an independent state. Over the course of recent times, the team have started to seriously challenge for the major trophies on offer in the country. They are nicknamed 'The Guarders'.

During their time in the Soviet Union's football league, Dila spent much of their time in the Soviet Second League, which was the country's third tier. Here, they were able to win the league in 1969. They were, however, unable to ever gain promotion to the Soviet Top League.

In 1990, Georgia's own national football league pyramid was created and Dila were placed in the top division, the Umaglesi Liga, where they remained until they lost a relegation playoff at the end of the 2000-01 season. Fortunately, they were able to return at the first attempt, but later suffered relegation all the way to the third tier in 2009. Under the management of Gia Tsetsadze, they were able to bounce back, winning the Meore Liga East in 2010 and finishing 3rd in the Pirveli Liga in 2011, to gain promotion back to the Umaglesi Liga. In the 2011-12 season, they claimed their first major honour, the Georgian Cup, while in 2012-13, they finished the league season in 2nd place and made their debut in the UEFA Europa League.

Some of the team's most notable former players have included Davit Razhamashvili and prolific goalscorer, Mate Vatsadze.

Dila Gori's home matches are held at Tengiz Burjanadze Stadium, which is sometimes also referred to as Dila Stadium. The venue is capable of holding up to 5,000 spectators.

Loading ...