Dinamo Tbilisi

Founded In
Tbilisi, Georgia

About Dinamo Tbilisi

Football Club Dinamo Tbilisi, usually known more simply as Dinamo Tbilisi, was founded in the autumn on 1925. Throughout history, they have competed in the Soviet league system, as well as the independent Georgian league, experiencing huge success in both countries. They were one of the few teams to have never suffered relegation from the Soviet Top League and have become the most successful side in the Georgian Premier League since the league's formation in 1990.

During their time in the Soviet Top League, Dinamo Tbilisi enjoyed significant success, winning the league in both 1964 and 1978. Their most successful spell came under the management of Nodar Akhalkats, who led them to their 1978 success, as well as two Soviet Cup wins and victory in the 1981 UEFA Cup Winners' Cup.

Since the formation of the Georgian national football league, Dinamo Tbilisi have gone on to dominate football in the country, winning a record 14 league titles, with their most recent success coming in 2013. They have also been the most successful club in the Georgian Cup, which they have lifted on ten occasions. The 1990s marked a period of huge success, which included six consecutive league and cup doubles, won in 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996 and 1997. Over recent years, they have been regular competitors in the UEFA Europa League.

Notable players to play for the team during its Soviet era include Boris Paichadze and Mikheil Meskhi. Since Georgia gained independence, the club have fielded some of the country's best-known stars, including Giorgi Kinkladze, Kakha Kaladze, Temuri Ketsbaia, Shota Arveladze and Mikheil Kavelashvili.

Dinamo Tbilisi's home matches are played at Dinamo Arena, formerly known as Boris Paichadze National Stadium, which opened in 1936. The venue is also used by the Georgia national team and can hold a capacity crowd of 55,000. Its record attendance, however, was set at 110,000 fans for a game against Liverpool FC back in 1979.

Loading ...