Dnepr Mogilev

Founded In
Mahilyou (Mogilev), Belarus

About Dnepr Mogilev

Football Club Dnepr Mogilev, sometimes known as FC Dnepr, was founded in the city of Mogilev in January 1960. Originally operating under the name Khimik Mogilev, the club spent much of its early history in the lower divisions of the Soviet league system, primarily competing in the third tier. However, since Belarusian independence and the formation of the country's Premier League, the club have emerged as a side capable of challenging for major silverware.

Over the years, Dnepr Mogilev have undergone several name changes. In 1963, they became known as Spartak Mogilev, before adopting the Dnepr Mogilev name for the first time ten years later. In 1998, Dnepr Mogilev merged with FC Transmash Mogilev and the combined team became known as Dnepr-Transmash Mogilev. Then, in 2006, the team reverted back to using the Dnepr Mogilev name.

In the Premier League era, Dnepr Mogilev took little time to establish themselves as a major force, finishing as runners up in the league in 1992 and also reaching the final of the Belarusian Cup in that same year. In 1998, the club experienced its greatest ever success, as Dnepr Mogilev were crowned league champions, after finishing nine points ahead of their closest rivals, BATE Borisov. However, recent times have been less successful and at the end of the 2011 campaign, the team were relegated. Fortunately, they were able to bounce back at the first opportunity, after finishing the 2012 season as champions of the Belarusian First League.

Some of the most notable players to have played for the side include Andrey Skorobogatko, Andrey Lyasyuk and Alyaksandr Sazankow.

Dnepr Mogilev's home matches are held at the Spartak Stadium in Mogilev. The venue, which is not to be confused with the Spartak Stadium used by Belshina, is owned by the club and is currently able to hold a capacity crowd of 7,990 people.

Loading ...