Drogheda United

Founded In
Drogheda, Republic of Ireland

About Drogheda United

Drogheda United Football Club was established back in 1975, as the result of a merger between a non-league club known as Drogheda United and a League of Ireland team called Drogheda FC. Although the combined team have spent a significant amount of their time outside of the top division, on occasion they have also achieved notable success. The club have a number of nicknames, including Drogs and The Boynesiders.

After their foundation, it took Drogheda United little time to establish themselves and during the 1980s, the club began to challenge for the the major honours on offer to them. In the 1982-83 season, they finished as runners up in the League of Ireland an the following campaign saw them pick up their first trophy, the League of Ireland Cup.

However, the vast majority of the team's success has come in more recent times. In 2005, they picked up the FAI Cup for the first time, while both 2006 and 2007 saw them lift the Setanta Sports Cup. The 2007 season also brought about Drogheda United's greatest success to date, as they were crowned as League of Ireland Premier Division champions. Then, in 2012, they claimed their second League of Ireland Cup. Over the years, their domestic success has seen the side gain entry into the qualification rounds of both the UEFA Champions League and Europa League.

Declan O'Brien is the team's greatest ever goalscorer, having scored more than 100 goals for the club. Other notable players to have played for Drogheda United include Damien Byrne, Cathal Muckian, Gel Martin and Brian Shelley.

The team's home games have been held at Hunky Dorys Park since 1979. The venue, which is also known as United Park, was previously able to hold 5,400 spectators, but its 'safe capacity' has now been set at 2,000.

Loading ...