Duke Blue Devils

About Duke Blue Devils


The Duke Blue Devils football team represent Duke University and have been active since 1895. Over the years, the Blue Devils have enjoyed significant success and many of their players have gone on to enjoy further success in the National Football League. Their main rivals are the North Carolina Tar Heels, although rivalries also exist with the Wake Forest Demon Deacons and the North Carolina State Wolfpack.

In 1938, Duke enjoyed one of their greatest ever years, as they went through the entire regular season without being scored upon. As a result, they went on to compete in the Rose Bowl, against the USC Trojans. Unfortunately, the Trojans scored a last-minute touchdown and won the game 7-3.

From 1930 until 1952, the Blue Devils competed in the Southern Conference and were crowned Conference Champions on a total of ten occasions. In 1953, Duke were a founding member of the Atlantic Coast Conference and were crowned co-champions in the conference's first year. Since then, they have added further Conference Championships in 1954, 1955, 1960, 1961, 1962 and 1989. As a result, between the Southern Conference and the Atlantic Coast Conference, the team have amassed a total of 17 Conference Titles. They have also competed in a total of nine bowl games and have a post-season bowl record of 3-6.

Notable players to play for the team include Fred Crawford, Mike McGee and Clarkston Hines, who were all inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. Additionally, George McAfee, Ace Parker and Sonny Jurgensen came through the program and went on to be enshrined in the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

The team have played their home games at Wallace Wade Stadium, formerly known as...

Loading ...