Dundee United

Founded In
Dundee, Scotland
About Dundee United

Dundee United Football Club was founded in 1909 under the name Dundee Hibernian. The club adopted its current name in 1923. Dundee United were a founding member of the Scottish Premier League when it was established in 1998 and have not been relegated from the division since. Their main rivals are the other major team from the city, Dundee FC.

Dundee United's golden era came during the 1980s, under the management of Jim McLean. It was during his reign, in the 1982–83 season, that the team won its only league title. In addition, McLean helped to transform the club into a European heavyweight. In 1983–84, the club reached the semi-final stage of the European Cup and in 1987, Dundee United were finalists in the UEFA Cup, eventually losing out to Swedish club IFK Göteborg.

In addition to their league title win, Dundee United have enjoyed significant success in domestic knockout competitions. In 1994, they defeated Rangers 1-0 to win the Scottish Cup and in 2010, they won the trophy once again, this time beating Ross County in the final. Dundee United have twice won the Scottish League Cup and the club has lifted the Forfarshire Cup, a regional competition, on twenty-one occasions.

Amongst the more notable players to have represented Dundee United are Dennis Gillespie, Eamonn Bannon, Jimmy Briggs, Paul Hegarty and Paul Sturrock. Peter McKay is the club's all time record goalscorer. All six players have been inducted into the Dundee United Hall of Fame.

Dundee United play their home matches at Tannadice Park, which is more commonly known as Tannadice. The ground is currently able to hold a maximum of 14,209 supporters, although the attendance record was set at 28,000 for a match against Barcelona in 1966. Tannadice is located less than 200 yards away from Dens Park, the home of their rivals, Dundee FC. This makes the two stadiums the closest professional football stadiums in all of Great Britain.   

Loading ...