East Carolina Pirates

About East Carolina Pirates

Representing East Carolina University, the East Carolina Pirates football team was founded in 1932 and began competing in organized games that same year. The team have enjoyed on-field success and have also produced a number of future NFL players. The Pirates' main rivals include the NC State Wolfpack, the North Carolina Tar Heels and the Southern Miss Golden Eagles. The rivalry with NC State is generally regarded as their most intense. They also have notable series with West Virginia and Virginia Tech.

In total, the team have competed in three different conferences and have been Conference Champions in all three. In 1953, they won the North State Conference, while in 1966, they became Southern Conference Co-Champions. Further Southern Conference Championships followed in 1972, 1973 and 1976. In 2008, the Pirates won the Conference USA Title; a feat which they repeated in 2009, to take their total number of Conference Championship wins up to seven.

East Carolina have appeared in a total of 18 bowl games, which includes four appearances in the Liberty Bowl. They currently have an 8-10 record in all bowl games, with their most recent appearance coming in the New Orleans Bowl, which they lost to Louisiana–Lafayette. 

Four former East Carolina players have had their jerseys retired by the team, including James Speight and Roger Thrift, who both set records while playing for the Pirates. The program has also produced 21 All-Americans over the years, including the likes of Robert Jones, Jeff Blake and Chris Johnson. 

Bagwell Field at Dowdy–Ficklen Stadium has served as the Pirates' home since its opening back in 1963. The venue has been expanded several times, with the most...

Loading ...