Christopher Smith

Eight FBS Teams Remain Unbeaten

Created on Oct. 27, 2013 2:49 AM EST

It figures in the final year of the BCS we're on a collision course with controvery.

Eight teams remain unbeaten in the FBS through nine weeks of the season, the largest total in five years at this juncture.

No. 5 Missouri and No. 10 Texas Tech each lost Saturday.

The eight remaining unbeatens fit into three neat categories: dominant BCS championship contenders (Alabama, Oregon, Florida State, Ohio State), overachievers with easy schedules (Baylor, Miami) and potential BCS bowl underdogs (Fresno State, Northern Illinois).

The BCS contenders won by a combined 199-55 on Saturday, with Oregon's 42-14 win against No. 12 UCLA representing the closest game.

Miami, meanwhile, needed a second consecutive game-winning drive and have fallen behind by double digits in three consecutive games (Georgia Tech, at North Carolina, Wake Forest).

Baylor has a case it belongs in the top group, but it's weak at best. None of Baylor's seven wins have come against teams receiving a single vote in the latest AP or USA Today/Coaches polls. After a bye next Saturday, the Bears face a gauntlet of three consecutive ranked teams and close against TCU and Texas.

Fresno State and Northern Illinois, fighting for an at-large slot in one of the four non-championship BCS bowls, each feature superstar quarterbacks. Jordan Lynch has accounted for 21 touchdowns for the Huskies, throwing for 1,488 yards and rushing for 932. Carr, more of a pocket passer, has thrown for 2,574 yards and 25 touchdowns for the Bulldogs, which blocked a kick at the end of regulation to escape San Diego State with a 35-28 overtime win against the Aztecs.

If all four teams in the upper crust win out, which seems feasible, but history tells us is unlikely, the Crimson Tide would face either the Ducks or Seminoles for a chance at a third consecutive national championship. If Alabama were to lose, perhaps against LSU on Nov. 9 or in the SEC championship, it's likely the conference's seven-year streak of producing the national champion will end.

Unbeatens Through Nine Weeks, By Year

2012: 5
2011: 6
2010: 5
2009: 7
2008: 8

Loading ...