Eintracht Frankfurt

Founded In
Frankfurt am Main, Germany

About Eintracht Frankfurt

Eintracht Frankfurt was founded in 1899 as Frankfurter Fußball-Club Viktoria von 1899. That club would go on to merge with another football club founded in the same year, Frankfurter Fußball-Club Kickers, in 1911.

The combined club became an overnight success story, and Eintracht Frankfurt won the Nordkreis-Liga in 1912, 1913 and 1914. Further regional league successes followed during the next few decades before the club became national champions in 1959. Off the back of these successes, Eintracht Frankfurt were selected as one of the sixteen teams that made up the first ever Bundesliga in 1963.

Although the club has yet to achieve further league title wins, Frankfurt have enjoyed a lot of success since the formation of the Bundesliga. In 1960, Eintracht Frankfurt made it all the way to the final of the European Cup, eventually losing Spanish giants Real Madrid. They would then go on to win the DFB Cup in consecutive years in 1974 and 1975. The 1980s was an especially successful decade for the club, as they won the 1980 UEFA Cup final beating fellow German club Borussia M'gladbach, the 1981 DFB Cup final and added another DFB Cup victory in 1988. The 1990s and early 2000s saw the club bounce between the first and second tier several times. In 2006, the team reached the final once again, although they were unsuccessful, losing out to Bayern Munich.

Notable talents to play for Eintracht Frankfurt throughout the club's history include Uwe Bein, Andreas Möller, Alfred Pfaff, Karl-Heinz Körbel, Jürgen Grabowski and Thomas Berthold. The club's record goalscorer is Bernd Hölzenbein, who scored 201 goals for the team between 1967 and 1981.

The club has played its home matches at the Commerzbank-Arena since 1925. Originally known as the Waldstadion, the ground has a capacity of 51,500 and was one of the stadiums used when Germany hosted the 2006 FIFA World Cup. 

Loading ...