El Tanque Sisley

Founded In
Montevideo, Uruguay

About El Tanque Sisley

El Tanque Sisley was first established under the name Club Atlético El Tanque back in 1941. They club adopted its current name in December 1981, after a merger with another team, called Club Cultural y Deportivo Sisley. Although usually known by their shortened name, El Tanque Sisley's full name is Centro Cultural y Deportivo El Tanque Sisley.

The club has spent much of its history in the lower tiers of the country's league pyramid, but has risen to prominence within Uruguay during the last few decades. The 1990 season brought about significant success for El Tanque Sisley, as they finally gained promotion from the country's second tier. As a result, the club made its debut in the Primera División in 1991. Unfortunately, however, they were relegated after just one season in the division. A prolonged period back in the second tier followed, before the team gained promotion back to the Primera División once more, ahead of the 2010-11 season.

Although they have been unable to achieve major success in domestic competitions, El Tanque Sisley have won a total of three Segunda División titles and two Tercera División titles throughout history. Since gaining their second promotion to the top tier, the team have been able to solidify their status as a Primera División club. The 2012-13 season saw the club achieve their best ever performance in the top flight, as they finished the campaign in 5th place. As a result, they qualified for the 2013 Copa Sudamericana, marking their first appearance in a major international competition and another significant step in their recent ascent.

Some of the most notable players to have played for El Tanque Sisley include Héctor Acuña and Miguel Murillo.

The team's home matches are held at the Estadio Victor Della Valle, which opened in 1992. The venue underwent a renovation process in 2010 and now has a capacity of 6,000.

Loading ...