FC Santa Coloma

Founded In
Andorra La Vella, Andorra

About FC Santa Coloma

Futbol Club Santa Coloma was founded in 1986 and is based in the village of Santa Coloma. Nicknamed the Colomencs, the club have quickly established themselves as the most successful team in the Andorran league system, with the beginning of the 21st century marking the start of their dominance. 

Their main rivals are UE Sant Julià, who have often competed with them for major honours. Matches between the two sides have become known as El Clàssic. Their local rivals, meanwhile, are UE Santa Coloma, with whom they contest El Derbi Colomenc. The rivalry between these two sides has intensified in recent years, especially since they competed closely to win the Primera Divisió title in 2009-10.

In 1991, the club won the first ever Copa Constitució. They have since gone on to win the competition nine times in total; more than any other team, with their most recent success coming in the 2011–12 season. Since the foundation of the Primera Divisió, Santa Coloma have also gone on to collect more league titles than any other side, winning the championship in 2000–01, 2002–03, 2003–04, 2007–08, 2009–10 and 2010–11, while they have finished as runners up on seven other occasions. The team have also lifted the Supercopa Andorrana four times. In addition to their success at domestic level, Santa Coloma are currently the only Andorran side to have won a match in a European competition, beating Maccabi Tel Aviv in the UEFA Cup in 2007.

Some of the most notable players to play for the club include prolific goal scorer, Rafael Sanchez Pedrosa, and Andorran international defender, Juli Fernandez.

Due to the size of the Andorran league, every team plays in the same two stadiums. The DEVK-Arena, formerly known as the Camp d’Esports d’Aixovall, has a capacity of 1,000, while the Estadi Comunal d'Andorra la Vella is slightly smaller and is able to hold up to 850 supporters.

Loading ...