Florida Gators

About Florida Gators

The Florida Gators football program was first established in 1906 and represents the University of Florida. The Gators have enjoyed significant success on the field, especially in recent decades and the program has produced more than 30 consensus All-Americans. Historically, Florida have had rivalries with a number of other teams, including the Florida State Seminoles, the Georgia Bulldogs, the LSU Tigers, the Tennessee Volunteers and the Miami Hurricanes.

In total, the Gators have won three National Titles, with those wins coming in 1996, 2006 and 2008. On all three occasions, Florida were consensus National Champions, having topped both the AP Poll and Coaches Poll. In addition, the 1984 team were recognised as National Title winners by some sources, including the New York Times, but they finished the year ranked number 3 in the AP Poll and the school does not currently claim this win.

Furthermore, Florida have won eight Southeastern Conference Championships, including consecutive wins in the 1993, 1994, 1995 and 1996 seasons, all of which were during Steve Spurrier's tenure as head coach. They have won 12 SEC East Division Titles and have appeared in 40 post-season bowl games. At present, their bowl record stands at 20-20, with their most recent win coming in the 2011 Gator Bowl, where they beat the Ohio State Buckeyes.

Amongst the team's most notable former players are names like Steve Spurrier, Scot Brantley, Danny Wuerffel, Jack Youngblood and Emmitt Smith. All five players were selected as part of Florida's All-Time Team, as chosen by Athlon Sports in 2001. Spurrier, Wuerffel, Youngblood and Smith have also been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.


Loading ...