Florida State Seminoles

About Florida State Seminoles

The Florida State Seminoles' origins can be traced back to 1947, when Florida State University first began to play regular intercollegiate football. They have been one of the most successful college football teams of recent decades and are widely considered to be one of the best college football programs of all time. Their main historic rivals include the Florida Gators and the Miami Hurricanes.

The team enjoyed its most successful period during the late 1980s and throughout the 1990s. This included a period of nine ACC championship wins in nine years, starting in the 1992 season and ending with the 2000 season. In addition, from 1987 to 2000, the Seminoles set a new NCAA record by finishing in the top five of the AP Poll for fourteen straight years.

At the end of the 1993 season, they beat the Nebraska Cornhuskers in the Orange Bowl in order to claim their first ever National Championship. A second National Championship win followed in 1999, this time after beating Virginia Tech in the Sugar Bowl. In total, Florida State have either won or shared sixteen Conference Titles and have recorded two perfect seasons, in 1950 and 1999. In 1950, they finished the season with a record of 8-0, while in 1999, they posted a 12-0 end of season record. 

Over the years, FSU have produced two Heisman Trophy winners: Charlie Ward and Chris Weinke. Other notable former players include Derrick Brooks, Peter Boulware, Sebastian Janikowski and Warrick Dunn, all of whom went on to successful careers in the NFL.

The team currently play home matches at Bobby Bowden Field at Doak Campbell Stadium, which is usually known more simply as Doak Campbell Stadium. The venue opened for the first time...

Loading ...