Fortuna Düsseldorf

Founded In
Düsseldorf, Germany

About Fortuna Düsseldorf

Fortuna Düsseldorf was founded in 1895 as part of the gymnastics club Turnverein Flingern. The team is notable for being the only German football club to be relegated from the top flight down to the fourth tier and return back to the top flight; a clear demonstration of the club's contrasting fortunes.

During the 1920s and early 1930s, the club competed in the Gauliga Berg Mark, which they would win on four occasions. Under Nazi rule, whilst the German league system was arranged into 16 top flight mini-leagues, Fortuna competed in the Gauliga Niederrhein. They would go on to dominate this league, winning it in 1936, 1937, 1938, 1939 and 1940.

In 1933, Fortuna Düsseldorf became national champions, defeating Schalke 04 in the final. To date it remains the club's greatest ever success. Despite this success and the team's other frequent successes in the Gauliga Niederrhein, Fortuna were not included in the inaugural Bundesliga in 1963. They did, however, earn promotion to play in the Bundesliga for the first time in the 1966–67 season. In addition, the club has a long history in the DFB Cup, winning the competition in 1979 and 1980 and reaching the final a further five times. Between 1978 and 1981, Fortuna achieved an amazing 18 consecutive victories in the cup, which remains a record for the competition. In continental competition, the club has won the Intertoto Cup on three occasions and reached the final of the European Cup Winners' Cup in 1979.

Legendary players to represent the club over the years include Paul Janes, Stanislaus Kobierski, Toni Turek, Erich Juskowiak, Klaus Allofs and Peter Meyer.

The club plays its home matches at the Esprit Arena. The ground, which hosts various other sporting events, has a capacity of 54,600 for Bundesliga matches and has a closable roof. 

Loading ...