Founded In
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany

About Freiburg

Sport-Club Freiburg's history dates back to two clubs which were both founded in 1904, FC Schwalbe Freiburg and Freiburger Fußballverein 04. In 1912, the two clubs combined to form SC Freiburg. The club has a complicated history, involving various mergers and seperations with other teams.

The First World War was an especially destructive influence on the club. In the aftermath, SC Freiburg entered into arrangements with several other clubs in the city in order to field a team. Amongst these teams were Freiburger Football Club and FT 1844 Freiburg. After the end of the Second World War, the club was briefly disbanded during the period of Allied occupation of Germany and upon its revival, the club was, for a short time, known as VfL Freiburg. In 1950, German clubs were allowed to reclaim their old identities and Vfl Freiburg left FT 1844 Freiburg behind and once again became known as SC Freiburg.

Although its early years saw Freiburg capturing various local titles, the club's history has been relatively free of major success. In recent years, Freiburg have become known as a yo-yo club, bouncing between the first and second tiers of the German league system on a regular basis. Aside from their local title and cup wins, such as the South Baden Cup, the team's greatest successes has been qualifying for the UEFA Cup on two occasions, in 1995 and 2001. Located in the south of the country Stuttgart is their closest rival.

Some of the notable players to play for Freiburg over the years include: Andreas Zeyer, Stefan Müller, Alexander Iashvili and Papiss Cissé. Joachim Löw is the club's all time greatest goalscorer, scoring 81 league goals for the side.

The team plays home matches at the Dreisamstadion, which is currently known as the Mage Solar Stadion due to a sponsorship deal. The ground has a capacity of 24,000 and is noted for being the first solar powered stadium in Germany, thanks to an initiative from Rolf Disch Solar Architecture in 1993. 

Loading ...