Fresno State Bulldogs

About Fresno State Bulldogs

The Fresno State Bulldogs represent California State University, Fresno and have been active since 1921. The Bulldogs have an all-time winning record and have enjoyed some significant success. The San Diego State Aztecs are often seen as the team's main rivals and the two teams contest the Battle for the Oil Can. Fresno State's other major rivals include the San Jose State Spartans, the Boise State Broncos and the Hawaii Warriors.

Having started out as an independent, the Bulldogs joined the California Coast Conference in 1922, before moving to the Northern California Athletic Conference in 1925. In 1939, Fresno State became a member of the California Collegiate Athletic Association, while in 1969, they joined the Big West Conference. Between 1992 and 2012, the Bulldogs competed in the Western Athletic Conference and the team currently competes in the Mountain West Conference, which they joined in 2012.

In terms of major titles, the team have won 26 Conference Championships throughout history. Furthermore, the Bulldogs have appeared in 24 bowl games and currently possess a 12-12 record in them. Their first victory came in the 1937 Charity Bowl, where they beat the Central Arkansas Bears. The team's most recent win in a bowl game came in the 2007 Humanitarian Bowl, where they overcame the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets.

A number of former Fresno State players have gone on to achieve success in the professional ranks. Stephen Baker became a Super Bowl champion with the New York Giants, Trent Dilfer became a Super Bowl champion with the Baltimore Ravens and Lorenzo Neal became a four-time Pro Bowl selection during his pro football career.

The Bulldogs have played home games...

Loading ...