Founded In
Gaziantep, Turkey

About Gaziantepspor

Nicknamed The Falcons, Gaziantepspor were first established in 1969. The club has risen to prominence in Turkey since the 1990s.

The club played friendly matches for the duration of its first year, before entering the Turkish league system ahead of the 1970-71 season. Due to a ruling made a year earlier, their status as a city club gained them instant access into the third tier. The team finished their first competitive season in 3rd place and then, at the conclusion of the 1978–79 season, Gaziantepspor gained promotion to the top flight for the first time. Their first top flight seaason was a struggle, with the team avoiding relegation by a single point. Then, in 1983, they were relegated back to the second tier, where they remained until 1990.

Promotion back to the Süper Lig in 1990 marked the beginning of the club's golden era. Over the course of the decade, the team achieved stability in the division. Then, in 1999-00, Gaziantepspor ended the season in 3rd place, gaining qualification to the following season's UEFA Cup. In 2000-01, the club repeated its performance in the league, once again finishing 3rd. It remains their highest ever league finish. The 2003–04 season brought about the club's finest continental performance, with the team reaching the third round of the UEFA Cup, eliminating Hapoel Tel Aviv and RC Lens before ultimately being eliminated by Roma. In 2012, the club won the newly revived Spor Toto Cup.

Amongst the more notable players to have represented Gaziantepspor over the course of the club's history are names like Fatih Tekke, Maksim Romaschenko, Kaba Diawara, Samuel Johnson and Olcan Adın.

The team play their home games at Gaziantep Kamil Ocak Stadium, which is named after a Turkish politician. The stadium is able to hold up to 16,981 spectators.   

Loading ...