Founded In
Gent, Belgium

About Gent

Koninklijke Atletiek Associatie Gent, more commonly known as Gent, was established in 1900. The football team was set up as part of a wider sports club, which had been involved in hockey and athletics since 1864. The team have enjoyed some significant success at domestic level.

Gent first reached the top flight of Belgian football ahead of the 1913-14 season and remained there until 1929. In the decades that followed, they bounced between the First Division and Second Division, struggling to fully establish themselves in the top tier. However, they have now been playing in the highest division continuously since their last promotion in 1989.

The team's first taste of major success came in 1963–64, when Gent lifted the Belgian Cup for the first time. Since then, the club have added two further Belgian Cup wins, with those victories coming in 1983–84 and 2009–10. Their highest ever finish in the top league is 2nd place, which they achieved in both 1954–55 and 2009–10. Additionally, Gent have been crowned champions of the Second Division on four occasions. In terms of continental competitions, the team's best ever performance came in the 1991–92 UEFA Cup, where they reached the quarter final stage, before being eliminated by Dutch giants, Ajax.

Some of the team's notable former players include Belgian internationals like Michel De Wolf, Marc Van Der Linden, Jacky Peeters, Nicolas Lombaerts and Sandy Martens, as well as the Serbian international Ivica Dragutinović and the Costa Rican international Bryan Ruiz.

Since its opening back in 1920, Gent have played their home matches at the Jules Ottenstadion, named after one of the club's original founders. The stadium is able to hold a maximum of 12,919 supporters. The team are set to move into a new home, the Arteveldestadion, ahead of the 2013-14 season. It will have superior facilities and an increased capacity of 20,000.   

Loading ...