Georgia Bulldogs

About Georgia Bulldogs

The Georgia Bulldogs represent the University of Georgia and the program began back in 1892. In the years since, the Bulldogs have emerged as a highly successful team, winning many titles and producing more than 30 consensus All-Americans, as well as two No. 1 NFL Draft picks. The team's three main rivals are the Auburn Tigers, the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets and the Florida Gators. The rivalry with the Yellow Jackets has earned the nickname 'Clean, Old-Fashioned Hate'.

In terms of major titles, the Bulldogs currently claim five National Championships, with those wins coming in 1927, 1942, 1946, 1968 and 1980. The 1927 team were dubbed 'the dream and wonder team', while Georgia's teams from 1946 and 1980 were unbeaten and untied for the duration of those seasons.

The team have won 14 Conference Championships, including 12 Southeastern Conference Championships and have also won seven SEC East Division Titles. Their most recent Conference Championship win came in 2005, while their last Division Title was won in 2012. The Bulldogs have made appearances in 48 bowl games and have a record of 27-18-3. As a result, they rank in the top five teams in the country in terms of both bowl game appearances and bowl game wins. Their most recent victory came in the 2013 Capital One Bowl, where they beat the Nebraska Cornhuskers.

Some of the notable players to have played for Georgia include Frank Sinkwich, Charley Trippi, Herschel Walker and Theron Sapp. All four players have had their numbers retired by the program. Sinkwich, Trippi and Walker have also been inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

The Bulldogs have played their home games at Sanford Stadium since the its openin...

Loading ...