Founded In
Niederhasli, Switzerland

About Grasshopper

Grasshopper Club Zürich, often known more simply as Grasshopper, was first established in September 1886 by an English student called Tom E. Griffith. The football team is the oldest part of a wider sports club and they are regarded as Swiss football's most successful side. Traditionally, their main rivals are FC Zürich, with whom they contest the Zürich Derby, and FC Basel, which is a rivalry based on long-stading sporting competition between the cities of Zürich and Basel.

In 1898, Grasshopper wrote themselves into the history books by becoming the first ever Swiss champions, while in 1900, they became the first team to win a Swiss title contested under a league format. The team are also noted for claiming a hattrick of back-to-back league titles during the 1980s, with the wins coming in 1982, 1983 and 1984.

Over the years, the club have won a total of 27 Swiss championships; more than any other team. Their most successful decade was the 1990s, during which Grasshopper claimed five league titles. In addition to their league success, the side have enjoyed tremendous success in cup competitions, winning a record 19 Swiss Cups and two Swiss League Cups. Grasshopper have also represented Switzerland in a number of continental competitions. In 1977-78, they reached the semi final stage of the UEFA Cup, which remains their best European performance.

Over the years, a number of Switzerland internations have represented Grasshopper, including Claudio Sulser, Hakan Yakin, Murat Yakin and Johann Vogel. Amongst the side's most notable foreign imports are Élber Giovane, Efan Ekoku and Papa Bouba Diop.

The team currently play their home matches at the new Letzigrund stadium, which opened in 2007 and also serves as the home of FC Zürich. It is able to hold a maximum of 25,000 supporters. However, this arrangement is only temporary, while Grasshopper await the opening of Stadion Zürich, their new home, in 2014.

Loading ...