Hajduk Split

Founded In
Split, Croatia

About Hajduk Split

Hrvatski Nogometni Klub Hajduk Split, usually known as Hajduk Split or Hajduk, was first established in February 1911 by a group of students from the city. Historically, the team's main rivals have been Dinamo Zagreb, with whom they contest what has become known as the Eternal Derby. It is recognised as Croatia's most important derby match, due to the popularity and success of the two teams involved.

Prior to the creation of the Prva HNL in Croatia, Hajduk Split competed in the Yugoslav First League and enjoyed tremendous success. In total, they were crowned league champions on nine occasions, with the 1970s proving to be their most successful decade. In addition, they lifted the Yugoslav Cup nine times, making them the second most successful team in the competition's history. In 1983-84, they reached the semi finals of the UEFA Cup, which remains their best performance in a continental competition.

After Croatia declared independence from Yugoslavia, Hajduk entered into the HNL. In 1992, 1994 and 1995, they finished top of the league and the 1994-95 season also saw the club reach the quarter final stage of the UEFA Champions League. In the years after, poor financial management held the club back and Hajduk would have to wait until 2001 for their next league title. Subsequent wins in 2004 and 2005 took their haul up to six Croatian championships. Furthermore, the team have lifted the Croatian Cup five times, to rank them amongst the country's most successful clubs.

Frane Matošić is considered the club's greatest ever player, and the striker scored a staggering 729 goals in 739 matches for Hajduk. Other notable footballers to play for the team include Leo Lemešić, Ljubo Benčić, Petar Nadoveza, Alen Bokšić, Slaven Bilić and Niko Kranjčar.

The Stadion Poljud has served as the team's home since 1979. The venue was built to host the 1979 Mediterranean Games and is currently able to hold a maximum of 33,497 supporters.

Loading ...