Christopher Smith

Heisman Winners

Created on Mar. 17, 2013 8:48 PM EST

The Heisman Trophy is named after John W. Heisman, who enjoyed a decorated career as a player and coach (1887-1927). Heisman became athletic director of New York City's Downtown Athletic Club (DAC) after retiring, founding the city's Touchdown Club and the National Football Coaches Association.

DAC officers insisted he organize a voting system to determine college football's best player. Initially opposed to recognizing an individual accomplishment, Heisman determined the award would personify the ultimate team honor.

Heisman died of pneumonia Oct. 3, 1936, after the first DAC Award went to Jay Berwanger (Chicago running back, 1935). The DAC officers renamed the award in honor of Heisman that year.

Six sectional representatives select state representatives for balloting. States with larger populations and more media outlets control more votes. Each of the six geographic sections represents 145 media votes. Every former Heisman winner gets a vote as well as one for the general public. Each voter must choose a first, second and third-place finisher, awarding three, two or one point.

The five finalists (determined by points) fly to New York City for a formal presentation in December.

Archie Griffin (Ohio State running back, 1974-75) is the only two-time winner. Charles Woodson (Michigan cornerback, 1997) is the only winner listed as a defensive player, though he dabbled at receiver and returned kicks.

Reggie Bush (USC running back, 2005), implicated by the NCAA for accepting improper benefits, is the only Heisman winner to vacate the award.

Tim Tebow (Florida quarterback, 2007) became the first underclassman to win the award, sparking a six-year streak during which no senior has won the Heisman. Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M quarterback, 2012) became the first freshman to claim the trophy.

Year Name School Position Class
1935 Jay Berwanger Chicago RB Sr.
1936 Larry Kelley Yale END Sr.
1937 Clint Frank Yale QB Sr.
1938 Davey O'Brien TCU QB Sr.
1939 Nile Kinnick Iowa RB Sr.
1940 Tom Harmon Michigan RB Sr.
1941 Bruce Smith Minnesota RB Sr.
1942 Frank Sinkwich Georgia RB Sr.
1943 Angelo Bertelli Notre Dame QB Sr.
1944 Les Horvath Ohio State QB Sr.
1945 Doc Blanchard Army FB Jr.
1946 Glenn Davis Army RB Sr.
1947 John Lujack Notre Dame QB Sr.
1948 Doak Walker SMU RB Jr.
1949 Leon Hart Notre Dame E Sr.
1950 Vic Janowicz Ohio State RB Jr.
1951 Dick Kazmaier Princeton RB Sr.
1952 Billy Vessels Oklahoma RB Sr.
1953 John Lattner Notre Dame RB Sr.
1954 Alan Ameche Wisconsin FB Sr.
1955 Howard Cassady Ohio State RB Sr.
1956 Paul Hornung Notre Dame QB Sr.
1957 John David Crow Texas A&M RB Sr.
1958 Pete Dawkins Army RB Sr.
1959 Billy Cannon LSU RB Sr.
1960 Joe Bellino Navy RB Sr.
1961 Ernie Davis Syracuse RB Sr.
1962 Terry Baker Oregon State QB Sr.
1963 Roger Staubach Navy QB Jr.
1964 John Huarte Notre Dame QB Sr.
1965 Mike Garrett USC RB Sr.
1966 Steve Spurrier Florida QB Sr.
1967 Gary Beban UCLA QB Sr.
1968 O.J. Simpson USC RB Sr.
1969 Steve Owens Oklahoma FB Sr.
1970 Jim Plunkett Stanford QB Sr.
1971 Pat Sullivan Auburn QB Sr.
1972 Johnny Rodgers Nebraska RB Sr.
1973 John Cappelletti Penn State RB Sr.
1974 Archie Griffin Ohio State RB Jr.
1975 Archie Griffin Ohio State RB Sr.
1976 Tony Dorsett Pittsburgh RB Sr.
1977 Earl Campbell Texas RB Sr.
1978 Billy Sims Oklahoma RB Jr.
1979 Charles White USC RB Sr.
1980 George Rogers South Carolina RB Sr.
1981 Marcus Allen USC RB Sr.
1982 Herschel Walker Georgia RB Jr.
1983 Mike Rozier Nebraska RB Sr.
1984 Doug Flutie Boston College QB Sr.
1985 Bo Jackson Auburn RB Sr.
1986 Vinny Testaverde Miami (Fla) QB Sr.
1987 Tim Brown Notre Dame WR Sr.
1988 Barry Sanders Oklahoma State RB Jr.
1989 Andre Ware Houston QB Jr.
1990 Ty Detmer BYU QB Jr.
1991 Desmond Howard Michigan WR Jr.
1992 Gino Torretta Miami (Fla) QB Sr.
1993 Charlie Ward Florida State QB Sr.
1994 Rashaan Salaam Colorado RB Jr.
1995 Eddie George Ohio State RB Sr.
1996 Danny Wuerffel Florida QB Sr.
1997 Charles Woodson Michigan CB Jr.
1998 Ricky Williams Texas RB Sr.
1999 Ron Dayne Wisconsin RB Sr.
2000 Chris Weinke Florida State QB Sr.
2001 Eric Crouch Nebraska QB Sr.
2002 Carson Palmer USC QB Sr.
2003 Jason White Oklahoma QB Jr.
2004 Matt Leinart USC QB Jr.
2006 Troy Smith Ohio State QB Sr.
2007 Tim Tebow Florida QB Sop
2008 Sam Bradford Oklahoma QB Sop
2009 Mark Ingram Alabama RB Sop
2010 Cam Newton Auburn QB Jr.
2011 Robert Griffin III Baylor QB Jr.
2012 Johnny Manziel Texas A&M QB Fr.
2013 Jameis Winston Florida State QB Fr.
Loading ...