Houston Cougars

About Houston Cougars

The Houston Cougars have been active in the intercollegiate game since 1946 and represent the University of Houston. Often known more simply as 'UH', the program has produced 18 consensus All-Americans. Historically, the team's main rivals have included the Rice Owls, the Tulsa Golden Hurricanes, the Texas A&M Aggies and the SMU Mustangs. Houston currently compete with Rice for the Bayou Bucket trophy.

While competing in the Missouri Valley Conference, the Cougars won four Conference Championships, with those wins coming in 1952, 1956, 1957 and 1959. Between 1960 and 1975, the team competed as an independent, before moving to the Southwest Conference. Here, they won Conference Titles in 1976, 1978, 1979 and 1984. From 1996 to 2012, Houston were part of Conference USA and added further Conference Championship wins in 1996 and 2006, taking their total number of Conference Titles to ten. Moving forward, the Cougars will compete in the American Athletic Conference.

In total, Houston have appeared in 21 bowl games and have a record of 9-11-1. Their most recent appearance came in the 2012 TicketCity Bowl, where they defeated the Penn State Nittany Lions by a score of 30-14. The Cougars have finished in the AP Poll and Coaches' Poll on 16 occasions, with their highest finish coming in 1976, when they were ranked at #4. 

Andre Ware is perhaps the program's most notable graduate. Ware won the Heisman Trophy in 1989, becoming the first African American quarterback to do so, and was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2004. The list of other well-known former Houston players includes names like J.D. Kimmel, Wilson Whitley, David Klingler and Case Keenum.


Loading ...