Houston Texans

About Houston Texans

The Houston Texans were founded in 2002 as an NFL expansion team. Bob McNair is the majority owner and the team was established in order to replace the Houston Oilers, who moved to Tennessee in 1997. That original franchise was subsequently renamed to the Tennessee Titans upon arriving in Nashville. The name 'Houston Texans' was chosen because the 'Houston Oilers' name could not be used since it was still owned by the Titans. Previously, a team called the Houston Texans had competed in the defunct World Football League during the 1970s.

The franchise won its first regular season game against the Dallas Cowboys to open the 2002 season. In the process, they became the first expansion team since the Minnesota Vikings in the 1960s to win their first NFL game. In 2003, they became the first expansion team ever to win the opening game in their first two seasons. After winning only 18 games during the team’s first four seasons, Houston gradually made progress under new head coach Gary Kubiak. The Texans' best season came in 2012, as the team finished 12-4 and won a playoff game.

The Texans made their first ever NFL playoff appearance in 2011. In total, they have won two AFC South Division Championships, with those wins coming in 2011 and 2012. Their overall playoff record stands at 2-2.

Notable Texans Players

  • Mario Williams
  • DeMeco Ryans
  • Andre Johnson
  • Matt Schaub
  • Arian Foster

NRG Stadium

Since the team's inception, the Houston Texans have played home games at NRG Stadium. The retractable roof stadium, which was formerly known as Reliant Stadium, has a listed capacity of 71,054. However, the record attendance for a Texans game currently stands at 71,738. The ven...

Loading ...