Huddersfield Town

Founded In
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire, England

About Huddersfield Town

Huddersfield Town Football Club was formed in 1908 and the club joined the Football League in 1910. Throughout most of its history, the team has played in the top two tiers of the English league system, although Huddersfield have not played in the top division since the 1970s.

In 1919, the club was suffering from poor attendances and considered a merger with the newly formed Leeds United AFC. Ultimately, this move would have seen the merged team relocate to the city of Leeds, bringing Huddersfield's brief history to an end. This proposal was eventually averted after a fund-raising campaign by the team's supporters. What followed was the most successful period in the club's history, under the management of Herbert Chapman.

After gaining promotion to the top division, Huddersfield Town won the FA Cup in 1922, beating Preston North End 1-0 in the final. Two seasons later, the club won the league title and repeated the feat in 1924–25. Chapman left the club after their second title win, but another league title followed in 1925–26, making Huddersfield Town the first club to win three consecutive titles in England. To date, the only other teams to achieve three league wins on the bounce are Manchester United, Liverpool and Arsenal. A decline in the club's fortunes began after the Second World War and in 1952 the team was relegated. Huddersfield returned to the top flight in the 1970s, but it was short lived and the club was relegated again after just two seasons.

Legendary former Huddersfield Town players include names like Clem Stephenson, Denis Law, Peter Doherty and Ray Wilson, who was part of England's 1966 World Cup winning team.

The club plays its home matches at the John Smith's Stadium, which was opened in 1994. The ground was previously called both the Galpharm Stadium and the Alfred McAlpine Stadium and has a capacity of 24,500.  

Loading ...