Idaho Vandals

About Idaho Vandals

The Idaho Vandals were first established as a college football team in 1893 and represent the University of Idaho. Although they hold an all-time losing record, the Vandals have enjoyed some sigificant on-the-field success and the program has also produced one consensus All-American and several NFL Draft picks. 

For almost twenty years, spanning the late 1970s to the early 1990s, the team competed at Division I-AA level, during which time they made 11 playoff appearances. They made their return to Football Bowl Subdivision competition in 1996. Since that time, the Vandals have competed in the Big West Conference, the Sun Belt Conference and the Western Athletic Conference. With the WAC dropping football as a sponsored sport, in late 2012 Idaho were given permission to continue in the FBS as an independent program.

Throughout history, the Vandals have won 10 Conference Titles, which includes nine wins in the Big Sky Conference. Their most recent title came in 1998, during their time in the Big West Conference. Idaho have made two appearances in post-season bowl games and were victorious on both occasions, winning the 1998 and 2009 Humanitarian Bowls, defeating the Southern Miss Golden Eagles and the Bowling Green Falcons, respectively.

In terms of notable former players, Ray McDonald and Mike Iupati were both selected as first round picks in the NFL Draft, while Mark Schlereth became a two-time Pro Bowl selection and a three-time Super Bowl champion. Quarterback John Friesz won the Walter Payton Award in 1989 and was later inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. 

Idaho have played their home games at the William H. Kibbie-ASUI Activity Center since 1971. The v...

Loading ...